Previous Winners


1997 Winner

Fugitive Pieces – 1997 Winner

Anne Michaels

Jakob Beer is seven years old when he is rescued from the muddy ruins of a buried village in Nazi-occupied Poland.

Of his family, he is the only one who has survived. Under the guidance of the Greek geologist Athos, Jakob must steel himself to excavate the horrors of his own history. A novel of astounding beauty and wisdom, Fugitive Pieces is a profound meditation on the resilience of the human spirit and love's ability to resurrect even the most damaged of hearts.

1997 Judges

  • Lisa Jardine CBE (Chair)
  • Allison Pearson
  • Andrea Levy
  • Fiona Kennedy
  • Val McDermid