Announcing our 2021 Judging Panel

Photo of Women's Prize judges

We’re over the moon to reveal next year’s incredible panel of the Women’s Prize for Fiction judges. Meet the five fantastic women who will be whittling down the books submitted to reach the 2021 winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction in June.

Chair of Judges, Bernardine Evaristo, is joined by Elizabeth Day, podcaster, author and journalist; Vick Hope, TV and Radio presenter, journalist and writer; Nesrine Malik, Guardian columnist and writer; and Sarah-Jane Mee, Sky news presenter and broadcaster.

Photo of the Women's Prize judges panel 2021

(Left to right: Vick Hope, Elizabeth Day, Bernardine Evaristo, Nesrine Malik, Sarah-Jane Mee)

‘The Women’s Prize for Fiction is such an essential and exciting prize,’ commented Bernardine Evaristo. ‘I’m looking forward to chairing it this year, and to discovering a wide range of novels that will give me a strong sense of the preoccupations, styles and aesthetics of contemporary women’s fiction. I hope to be blown away by some exceptional novels and to discover some hidden gems that deserve more attention and a wider readership.’

Learn what our judges will be looking for in a winning book in our behind-the-scenes video, recorded at the judges’ first meeting at The AllBright club in Mayfair:

Follow the judges’ journey @womensprize on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter.

The Women's Prize Podcast

Tune into host Vick Hope and a line-up of incredible guests on our weekly podcast full of unmissable book recommendations.

Win our 2022 shortlist!

Join the Women's Prize newsletter for a chance to win a stack of all 6 brilliant 2022 shortlisted books, and get the latest book news, author features and exciting competitions! (You can unsubscribe at any time)*