Who will be the 25th winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction?


The winner of the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction will be unveiled tonight, 9th September 2020. Who gets your vote?

Watch the winner’s announcement LIVE at 7pm BST. Join 2020 Chair of Judges Martha Lane Fox as she reveals the winning author on the Prize Twitter, Facebook and YouTube, followed by a live Q&A with the winner. 

The latest odds from bookmakers William Hill pitch Bernardine Evaristo as the favourite at 2/1 to win with her ninth novel Girl, Woman, Other. In 2019, Evaristo became the first black woman to win the Booker Prize for Girl, Woman, Other and she previously won the Orange Prize Youth Panel award in 2009, for her novel Blonde Roots.

Second favourite at 3/1 is British author Hilary Mantel for The Mirror and The Light – a third instalment of her bestselling Thomas Cromwell trilogy, which twice before, in 2010 and 2013, earned Mantel a place on the Women’s Prize shortlist (she was first shortlisted in 2006, for Beyond Black). In third place, at 5/1 is British author Natalie Haynes for A Thousand Ships. An author, broadcaster and comedian, Haynes was nominated for Best Newcomer Award at the 2002 Perrier Comedy Awards – the first woman to receive the nomination.

The fourth favourite – at 6/1- is American author Angie Cruz, for Dominicana.  Her novel was the inaugural book pick for the Good Morning America bookclub and won the ALA/YALSA Alex Award in fiction.

In a joint fifth place, at 7/1 are Irish-British author Maggie O’Farrell for Hamnet and American author Jenny Offill for Weather. O’Farrell is the recipient of the 2010 Costa Novel Award for her fifth novel The Hands that First Held Mine. Offill’s second novel Dept. of Speculations was previously shortlisted for the Folio Prize, the Pen/Faulkner Award and the L.A. Times Fiction Award.

Who do you think it will be?

The ‘Bessie’

The writer crowned the 25th winner tonight will join the Women’s Prize canon. Every winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction receives a cheque for £30,000 and a ‘Bessie’.  Each is unique, cast in a slightly different coloured bronze each year, and is taken from a cast donated by the late Grizel Niven (1906-2007), a sculptor and artist of the Slade School in the 1920s. The ‘Bessie’ (who was named by the anonymous donor who, in the mid 1990s, established the Trust fund to provide the £30,000 prize money in perpetuity), is about some 19 cms tall. The original sculpture is nearly a metre high and stood in Niven’s garden in Chelsea, London.

Niven died at the age of 100 and the anonymous donor, for whom the Bessie is named,  also passed away a few years after the Prize was launched. We are very grateful to them for their generosity and support. It is in the spirit of the Women’s Prize for Fiction that it was two women, of a much older generation, who helped support a group of young women to get the Prize launched.


Which book gets your vote? Join in the conversation @WomensPrize on Twitter and Instagram and have your say.