Welcome to The Bessie Blog

To mark the announcement of our 20th anniversary celebrations (yes, we have indeed reached the ripe old age of 20!), welcome to the very first post on our brand new blog.

Check out the Bessie blog, eponymously named after our famous bronze Bessie, awarded to each winner of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, for a behind-the-scenes look at the literary world. We’ll be discussing books, brilliant women and more with authors and our wonderful Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction judges; so watch this space.

In the meantime, don’t miss the chance to grab your ticket for our star-studded Best of the Best Live event hosted by co-founder of the BWPFF, novelist Kate Mosse. We’ll be celebrating our landmark birthday with readings from each of the winning novels of the past decade by actors including Stanley Tucci and Sheila Hancock; plus our amazing Chairs of Judges from the last ten years  will be revealing  which novel is their ‘Best of the Best’.

Our brilliant Chairs of Judges are:

  • 2006- Martha Kearney
  • 2007 – Muriel Gray
  • 2008 -Kirsty Lang
  • 2009 – Fi Glover
  • 2010- Daisy Goodwin
  • 2011- Bettany Hughes
  • 2012- Joanna Trollope
  • 2013 -Helen Fraser
  • 2014 -Shami Chakrabarti


Can’t wait? Keep a look out on @BaileysPrize for ticket and book competitions!