The Household Guide to Dying

Debra Adelaide

A moving novel, charting a dying woman’s attempts to prepare her family for the future. For fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Audrey Niffenegger.

Inspired by her heroine, Isabella Beeton, Delia has made a living writing a series of hugely successful modern household guides. As the book opens, she is not yet forty, but has only a short time to live.

Preoccupied with how to prepare herself and her family for death, Delia realizes that what she really needs, more than anything, is a manual. Realising this could be her greatest achievement, she sets to work. But, in the writing, Delia is forced to confront the ghosts of her past.

Hugely original, life affirming and humorous, The Household Guide to Dying illuminates love, loss and the place we call home.

Explore the other winners

Longlist announced - 10th March

Stay in the loop

Enter your email to be the first to know the latest news from the Women's Prize For Fiction

VOTE

Vote for your favourite #WomensPrize winner

Cast your vote for your favourite #ReadingWomen book and decide who will be our Winner of Winners in our 25th year.

Favourite book Ended

  • A Spell of Winter
    7% 413 / 5.7k
  • Fugitive Pieces
    2% 160 / 5.7k
  • Larry's Party
    1% 98 / 5.7k
  • A Crime in the Neighborhood
    1% 72 / 5.7k
  • When I Lived in Modern Times
    1% 64 / 5.7k
  • The Idea of Perfection
    1% 58 / 5.7k
  • Bel Canto
    5% 294 / 5.7k
  • Property
    0% 34 / 5.7k
  • Small Island
    12% 735 / 5.7k
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin
    9% 544 / 5.7k
  • On Beauty
    5% 328 / 5.7k
  • Half of a Yellow Sun
    26% 1.5k / 5.7k
  • The Road Home
    2% 147 / 5.7k
  • Home
    3% 178 / 5.7k
  • The Lacuna
    3% 200 / 5.7k
  • The Tiger's Wife
    2% 128 / 5.7k
  • The Song of Achilles
    17% 1k / 5.7k
  • May We Be Forgiven
    1% 98 / 5.7k
  • A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing
    3% 203 / 5.7k
  • How to be Both
    6% 347 / 5.7k
  • The Glorious Heresies
    2% 117 / 5.7k
  • The Power
    7% 413 / 5.7k
  • Home Fire
    7% 440 / 5.7k
  • An American Marriage
    8% 505 / 5.7k
  • Hamnet
    6% 347 / 5.7k
Win a set of all 25 Women's Prize winning books

Sign up to the Women's Prize for Fiction newsletter and win all 25 Prize winning books, including our 2020 winner Hamnet.

You'll be the first to hear about exciting author events and our latest news, and you can unsubscribe at any time.