THE SECRET LIFE OF BEES

Sue Monk Kidd

Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys
Fans of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd’s Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily’s fierce-hearted black “stand-in mother,” Rosaleen, insults three of the town’s most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother’s past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Explore the other winners

Shortlist announced - 21 Apr

Stay in the loop

Enter your email to be the first to know the latest news from the Women's Prize For Fiction

VOTE

Vote for your favourite #WomensPrize winner

Cast your vote for your favourite #ReadingWomen book and decide who will be our Winner of Winners in our 25th year.

Favourite book Live

  • A Spell of Winter
    5% 106 / 2.1k
  • Fugitive Pieces
    1% 41 / 2.1k
  • Larry's Party
    1% 29 / 2.1k
  • A Crime in the Neighborhood
    0% 15 / 2.1k
  • When I Lived in Modern Times
    0% 16 / 2.1k
  • The Idea of Perfection
    0% 10 / 2.1k
  • Bel Canto
    4% 89 / 2.1k
  • Property
    0% 9 / 2.1k
  • Small Island
    8% 185 / 2.1k
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin
    8% 173 / 2.1k
  • On Beauty
    3% 67 / 2.1k
  • Half of a Yellow Sun
    20% 433 / 2.1k
  • The Road Home
    2% 54 / 2.1k
  • Home
    2% 49 / 2.1k
  • The Lacuna
    2% 59 / 2.1k
  • The Tiger's Wife
    1% 30 / 2.1k
  • The Song of Achilles
    11% 240 / 2.1k
  • May We Be Forgiven
    1% 26 / 2.1k
  • A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing
    2% 57 / 2.1k
  • How to be Both
    4% 90 / 2.1k
  • The Glorious Heresies
    2% 54 / 2.1k
  • The Power
    4% 105 / 2.1k
  • Home Fire
    6% 130 / 2.1k
  • An American Marriage
    4% 100 / 2.1k
Win a set of our 2020 shortlist!

Sign up for the Women's Prize for Fiction newsletter and win a stack of this year's six shortlisted books.

(We will send you occasional emails full of author interviews, extracts and audio, and you can unsubscribe anytime. Please read our privacy policy for more information).